This page has the redacted responses to questions from our consultation paper on Regulating Coal Tip Safety in Wales.

We have published responses in the same format and language(s) that they were submitted to us. Some information has been redacted from responses in accordance with the Law Commission’s redaction policy (primarily information which identifies a consultee’s address or contact details).

Return to the project page.



Dr Ben Curtis

Blaenau Gwent CBC

Professor Bob Lee

Bridgend CBC

British Geological Survey



Caerphilly CBC

Chris Seddon

CLA Wales

Clare Dinham

Coal Action Network

Colliery Spoil Biodiversity Initiative

Professor David Petley

Dwr Cymru Welsh Water

Flood and Coastal Erosion Committee

Graham Hathaway

Grwp Plaid Cymru, Castell-nedd Port Talbot

Health and Safety Executive

Hefin David MS, Senedd Cymru

Heledd Fychan AS ymateb

Home Builders Federation

Howard Siddle

Huw Williams

Huw Williams response to question 29

ICE Wales Cymru

Jacobs UK Ltd (formerly Halcrow)

Jane Iwanicki

Joel James MS

Dr John Perry

Cllr Julie Edwards

Keith Bush QC ymateb

Kim Moreton

Lee Jones

Merthyr Tydfil CBC

Mineral Products Association

Monmouthshire CC

Natural Resources Wales

Neal Carhart

Neath Port Talbot CBC

Network Rail

Cllr Nigel Thomas Hunt

Ove Arup and Partners Ltd

Owen Jordan

Paul Connolly

Paul Funck

Peter Brabham

Philip Thomas

Plaid Cymru Group, Rhondda Cynon Taf

Plaid Cymru Group, Neath Port Talbot

Pontypool Park Estate Office

Rhondda Cynon Taf covering letter

Rhondda Cynon Taf response

Richard Arnold

Richards, Moorehead and Laing

Sioned Williams AS

Stephen Smith

Steve Harford

Steve Jones

Sue Jordan

The Law Society of England and Wales

Professor Thomas Watkin QC

Tom St John

Torfaen CBC

Transport for Wales

Vikki Howells MS

Welsh Local Government Association 

Wrexham County Borough Council

Sir Wyn Williams

Wyn Williams, Supplementary response